Pet Travel Items is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Our picks are based on documented listing facts and honest design analysis, never on commission rates. Read our full affiliate disclosure.
A travel kennel is a strange product to shop for, because the label lies in a way a leash or a bowl never does. “Medium” on a kennel box means whatever the brand needed it to mean that quarter. One brand’s medium fits a Cocker Spaniel. Another brand’s medium barely fits a Beagle. The weight-class numbers across the six listings on this page run from 25 pounds to 70 pounds, and every one of them says “medium” somewhere. The only honest way to size a kennel is to measure the dog doing three things: standing at full height, turning around in a circle, and lying stretched on its side. If the kennel does not fit all three, the word on the box does not matter.
Three formats split this category, and each one is honest about a different job. Hard plastic kennels are the durability answer: a solid shell, a metal door, real resistance to chewing and impact, and the format with the most credibility at an airline cargo counter. They do not fold flat, which is the price you pay. Folding wire crates are the ventilation answer: maximum airflow, maximum visibility, divider panels for training, and they collapse flat in seconds for the car or the closet. Their honest limit is escape: a determined dog works a wire door’s latch, and no wire crate is chew-proof. Soft-sided kennels are the lightweight answer: a few pounds, pop-up in seconds, genuinely pleasant for car rides and vet waiting rooms. Their honest scope is narrow: fabric and zippers do not survive a chewer, and no airline on earth accepts a soft-sided crate as cargo. Now the claim that needs deflating: “airline approved” and “meets most airline cargo specifications” are brand claims, not certifications. There is no central kennel authority stamping approvals. The airline’s published rules are the verdict, they differ by carrier, and they change. Buy for the dog’s comfort and the trip you actually take, then check the airline before you fly.
We picked these six on documented medium-dog relevance: sizes and breed classes that actually fit medium dogs, features documented in the listing copy, and claims we could check against the words on the page. One plastic kennel, three wire crates, one soft-sided, one premium hybrid — the full honest spread, in that order. No prices, no star ratings, no review counts: those change daily and we do not invent numbers. No fake testing claims, no invented owners, no borrowed anecdotes. Every observation below is either a fact from the listing or a structural observation we have labeled as one, including the sizing caveats each listing would rather you not notice.
Travel Kennels for Medium Dogs at a Glance
| # | Product | Why it made the list | Check Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Petmate Ultra Vari 28″ Plastic Kennel | The only hard-shell kennel here; documents cargo-friendly hardware (metal screws, tie-down holes); airline acceptance remains the listing’s claim | Check Price |
| 2 | MidWest Homes for Pets 36″ iCrate (single door) | The category benchmark: 36″ wire crate with divider panel and documented Paw Block latch engineering | Check Price |
| 3 | Amazon Basics 36″ Wire Crate (double door) | Double-door 36″ wire crate with the best documented sizing guidance here (add 4 inches rule) | Check Price |
| 4 | PETSFIT 30″ Soft-Sided Travel Kennel | Lightest pick here (7.28 lbs); pop-up soft kennel for car and vet use — not for cargo or chewers | Check Price |
| 5 | DIGGS Revol Collapsible Crate, Medium (Ash) | Premium pick: wheels, aluminum build, baby-industry safety standards — at 32 lbs, the heavyweight | Check Price |
| 6 | Sweetcrispy 30″ Wire Crate (double door) | Lightest wire crate here (14.25 lbs) with two slide-bolt locks per door | Check Price |
1. Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel for Small to Medium Dogs (Durable, Heavy Duty Dog Travel Crate, Made with Recycled Materials, 28 in. Long) 25 to 30 lbs, Made in USA
The Petmate Ultra Vari is the hard-shell answer and the only plastic kennel in this lineup, which makes it the most defensible pick here if your medium dog ever flies. The listing’s airline language — “meets most airline cargo specifications” — is a brand claim, not a certification, and we will keep repeating that everywhere it appears. What is genuinely documented: a heavy-duty plastic shell assembled with metal screws rather than plastic clips, a steel wire front door with an easy-open latch, ventilation openings on all four sides, tie-down strap holes for securing it in a vehicle, a raised interior, and a stay-dry moat floor that pulls fluid away from the pet. The “Made in USA” note and the 90-100% pre-consumer recycled material figure are in the listing too, and they are the kind of supply-chain specifics most kennel listings never bother to state.
Size is where this kennel needs its honesty footnote. The brand’s size class is 25 to 30 pounds, in a 28 by 20.5 by 21.5 inch box weighing 10.81 pounds. That is the small end of medium. A 25-pound dog stands, turns, and lies down in this comfortably. A 45-pound dog does not, and buying it for a 45-pound dog because the box said “medium” is the classic kennel mistake this whole article exists to prevent. If your dog sits at the bottom of the medium range — a Beagle, a small Cocker Spaniel — this is sized right. If your dog sits at the top, one of the 36-inch wire crates below is the honest answer.
The practical details round out the picture. No-tool assembly is documented, and hand-wash care tells you the shell is the wipe-clean kind of plastic. The 360-degree ventilation is the real plastic-kennel advantage over soft sides: airflow from every direction with no mesh for claws to work through. And for car travel, the tie-down strap holes are the feature that matters most. A kennel sliding around a cargo area in a hard stop is a hazard, and straps through real molded holes fix it in a way bungee cords around a wire crate never quite do.
Key specs: 28″ L x 20.5″ W x 21.5″ H; 10.81 lbs; 25-30 lbs size class; heavy-duty plastic shell with metal screws and steel wire door; 360-degree ventilation on all sides; no-tool assembly; easy-open front latch; tie-down strap holes; raised interior; stay-dry moat floor; hand wash; 90-100% pre-consumer recycled material; Made in USA. Airline compatibility (“meets most airline cargo specifications”) is the listing’s claim.
Pros:
- The only hard-shell kennel here: the most durable format and the most cargo-credible (listing’s airline claim)
- Metal screws rather than plastic clips, plus a steel wire door — documented build honesty
- Tie-down strap holes: a kennel that cannot slide around the cargo area in a hard stop (listing feature)
- Stay-dry moat floor and raised interior for messes on long travel days (listing)
- Made in USA plus 90-100% recycled material — supply-chain specifics most listings skip (listing)
Cons:
- 25-30 lb class is the small end of medium — too small for a 40-50 lb dog (structural observation)
- Does not fold flat: a one-piece shell needs real storage space (structural observation)
- Single front door only — no side access for tight car arrangements (structural observation)
- “Meets most airline cargo specifications” is a brand claim; the airline’s published rules decide (listing’s own framing)
Verdict: The hard-shell pick for the small end of medium. If your dog is 25-30 pounds and travels in cargo holds or does rough car duty, plastic beats wire and fabric on durability. Just do not buy the 28-inch size for a big medium dog.
2. MidWest Homes for Pets 36-Inch iCrate for Medium-Large Breeds, 41-70 lbs, Single Door Folding Dog Crate with Divider Panel, Leak-Proof Tray & Secure Latches, Portable, Durable & Easy to Assemble
The iCrate is the reference point every other wire crate on this page gets measured against. The design shows its maturity: precision-welded wire with a black e-coat finish, a slide-bolt latch with the brand’s Paw Block and locking tips, a divider panel for adjusting internal space, a leak-proof ABS plastic pan, rubber feet, a carrying handle, and a fold-flat design that collapses without tools in seconds. The dimensions are 36 by 23 by 25 inches at 22 pounds, and the breed class is 41-70 pounds. That is a genuine upper-medium size, not the borderline kind — the one kennel here whose “medium” claim survives contact with a tape measure.
Two documented details separate this from generic wire crates. First, the latch: Paw Block plus locking tips on the slide bolt is specific anti-escape engineering, and it exists because wire-crate doors are the escape point. A clever dog learns a plain slide bolt fast; a latch designed against exactly that is worth naming. Second, the larger openings and low threshold the listing documents. A lower step-in matters for older dogs and dogs with stiff joints, which is a real medium-dog reality since many medium breeds hit joint trouble in middle age. The one-year manufacturer’s warranty and Indiana-based customer care are documented too, and a domestic support line is genuinely useful when you need a replacement pan or latch part instead of a whole new crate.
The honest wire-crate caveats apply here as much as anywhere. Twenty-two pounds is manageable but not light, and folded flat it is still a 36-inch panel to store somewhere. The e-coat finish resists rust but chips if you drag the crate across concrete, and chipped coating is where rust starts. The divider panel, while excellent for puppy growth stages, becomes one more piece to store once the dog is grown. None of this disqualifies the iCrate. It is the benchmark because it documents its answers instead of making you guess.
Key specs: 36″ L x 23″ W x 25″ H; 22 lbs; 41-70 lbs breed class; precision-welded metal wire with black e-coat finish; single door with Paw Block and locking tips on slide-bolt latch; divider panel; leak-proof ABS pan; rubber feet; carrying handle; folds flat without tools in seconds; larger openings and low threshold; 1-year manufacturer’s warranty; Indiana-based customer care.
Pros:
- Genuine 41-70 lb class at 36 inches: the truest medium-dog sizing in this lineup (listing)
- Paw Block plus locking tips on the slide bolt: documented anti-escape latch engineering
- Divider panel: buy for the puppy, shrink the space, expand it as the dog grows
- Low threshold and larger openings — a real detail for stiff or older dogs (listing)
- One-year warranty with Indiana-based customer care (listing)
Cons:
- 22 lbs with a 36-inch folded footprint: portable, not light (structural observation)
- Single door only — side access would help tight car layouts (structural observation)
- E-coat chips if dragged across concrete; chipped coating is where rust starts (structural observation)
- Wire crates are not chew-proof and not escape-proof against a determined dog — no wire crate is (structural observation)
Verdict: The default wire-crate answer for medium dogs. If you buy one crate blind from this list, the iCrate’s documented sizing, real latch engineering, and divider panel make it the safest 36-inch choice.
3. Amazon Basics – Durable, Foldable Metal Wire Dog Crate with Tray, Double Door, 36 x 23 x 25 in, Black
Same 36 by 23 by 25 footprint as the iCrate, a hair heavier at 22.11 pounds, and two differences that matter: a second door on the side, and the most honest sizing guidance in this lineup. The listing names the breeds — Corgi, Brittany, Cocker Spaniel, French Bulldog — and then gives the rule the whole industry should print: add 4 inches to the nose-to-tail and head-to-floor measurements. It also states the dog should be under 32 by 21 inches. That is a listing telling you how to check its work instead of hiding behind a weight range. Weight, notably, is not stated in pounds at all — breed class only, which is its own kind of honesty about wire crates flexing under heavy dogs.
The double door is a genuine usability upgrade over single-door crates in a car. A front door plus a side door means you can orient the crate sideways in a cargo area and still get the dog in and out, which matters when a 36-inch crate leaves you inches of clearance. The divider panel is here too, for adjusting internal space as a puppy grows. The removable plastic base tray handles the messes, and the top handle makes the folded 36-inch panel carryable. One documented detail we liked: a metal hook at the crate bottom to prevent tray movement. A sliding tray under a nervous dog is a small anxiety generator, and a hook that stops it is the kind of detail cheap crates skip.
The manual door locking mechanism is documented as manual: read that as “you lock it.” No auto-anything. The cons write themselves: plain black wire, no brand-specific latch engineering like the iCrate’s Paw Block, and Amazon Basics support means Amazon’s support system rather than a crate specialist’s. But the breed naming and the add-four-inches rule give it the clearest sizing documentation here, and double doors at this footprint are genuinely useful in real cars.
Key specs: 36″ L x 23″ W x 25″ H; 22.11 lbs; double door (front and side); divider panel; removable plastic base tray; top handle; folds flat; metal hook at crate bottom prevents tray movement; manual door locking mechanism; rated for pets under 32″ x 21″ (LxH); sizing guidance: add 4 inches to nose-to-tail and head-to-floor measurements; Medium Breeds (Corgi, Brittany, Cocker Spaniel, French Bulldog named). Weight in lbs not stated.
Pros:
- Double door (front plus side): orient the crate sideways in a car and still reach the dog
- Best sizing documentation here: named breeds, maximum dog dimensions, add-4-inches rule (listing)
- Divider panel for growing puppies, same as the iCrate
- Metal hook stops the base tray sliding under a nervous dog — a real small detail (listing)
Cons:
- No documented anti-escape latch engineering like the iCrate’s Paw Block (structural observation)
- 22.11 lbs: the heaviest wire crate here by a hair, and still a 36-inch folded panel (structural observation)
- Weight capacity not stated in pounds — breed class only, less precise (listing’s own framing)
- Generic-brand support: Amazon’s system, not a crate specialist (structural observation)
Verdict: The double-door 36-inch wire crate. Buy it over the iCrate if side access matters for your car layout, and trust its sizing rule: measure the dog, add four inches, check against 32 by 21.
4. PETSFIT Portable Dog Crate for Medium Dogs, – 30″ Soft Dog Travel Crates with Lockable Zippers & Thicken Mat, Adjustable Patented Spiral Steel Frame, Collapsible Kennel for Indoor & Outdoor
The Petsfit is the outlier: soft-sided, 7.28 pounds, and the only kennel here that pops up and folds flat in seconds with no wire panels at all. The frame is the interesting bit — a patented adjustable spiral steel frame with no pinch points, which is the documented answer to the classic soft-crate failure of collapsing frames pinching paws or fingers. Three mesh doors give ventilation and visibility from multiple angles, the zippers lock (a real feature: a dog that learns zippers defeats an unlocked one), the mat is thickened and washable, and the bottom is waterproof. At 29.92 by 20.08 by 18.9 inches it suits dogs up to 50 pounds per the brand, and the listed use is indoor, outdoor, and car.
Here is the honest scope, stated plainly, because soft-sided kennels are where the most returns happen. This is for car rides, vet waiting rooms, hotel rooms, and calm dogs that already crate well. It is not for chewers, not for dogs that scratch at fabric, not for escape artists, and never for airline cargo. A 7.28-pound kennel cannot restrain a determined 40-pound dog, and no zipper changes that. The listing is reasonably straight about this — indoor, outdoor, and car use, with a one-year warranty — and we are not going to dress it up further. For the right dog, though, the weight is transformative: this is the kennel you actually bring on every trip because carrying it costs nothing.
The mesh-door count deserves emphasis: three doors versus one or two on most soft crates. In a car, a side door facing the seat means the dog sees you; in a hotel room, a top door means easy lifting in and out. The washable mat and waterproof bottom cover the two mess scenarios — accidents and wet paws — that soft crates otherwise handle badly. Just remember the fabric reality: claws and canvas are a bad combination over time, so keep nails trimmed and accept that a soft crate is a consumable, not an heirloom.
Key specs: 29.92″ L x 20.08″ W x 18.9″ H; 7.28 lbs; up to 50 lbs (medium dogs per brand); soft-sided collapsible; patented adjustable spiral steel frame (no pinch points); 3 mesh doors; lockable zippers; thickened washable comfort mat; waterproof bottom; pops up/folds flat in seconds; indoor, outdoor, and car use; 1-year warranty.
Pros:
- Lightest kennel here by far (7.28 lbs) — the one that actually travels with you every trip
- Spiral steel frame with no pinch points: a documented answer to the collapsing-frame problem (listing)
- Three mesh doors — ventilation and access from every useful angle (listing)
- Lockable zippers: defeats the dog that learns how zippers work (listing feature)
- Washable mat plus waterproof bottom cover the mess scenarios soft crates fear (listing)
Cons:
- Not for chewers, scratchers, or escape artists — fabric and zippers have hard limits (structural observation)
- Never airline cargo: no airline accepts a soft-sided crate (structural observation)
- A soft crate is a consumable: claws wear fabric over time, whatever the brand (structural observation)
- The 50-lb ceiling is the brand’s number; a restless 50-pound dog overpowers fabric (structural observation)
Verdict: The car-and-vet pick for calm dogs. If your medium dog already crates well and you want the lightest possible travel setup, the Petsfit is honest about its limits. Respect them and it earns its place.
5. DIGGS Revol Collapsible Dog Crate with Wheels – Premium Portable Dog Crate – Safe, Stylish, and Convenient Indoor Kennel (Ash, Medium)
The Revol is the premium entry and it shows in the materials: high-grade aluminum, steel mesh wire, reinforced plastic. No plain black wire anywhere. It is a collapsible crate on wheels with a carrying handle, ergonomic doors, and a fold-flat design, at 34.6 by 22.9 by 23.8 inches. The standout documented feature is the design standard: it was designed to baby-industry safety standards, specifically against pinched paws and fingers. Kennels injure dogs at hinges and latches more often than owners admit, and a brand engineering against that from the start is the strongest safety story in this lineup. The Ash color and the one-year limited warranty are documented; ecosystem accessories are sold separately.
The wheels change how this crate lives. At 32 pounds it is the heaviest kennel here by a wide margin — heavier than any wire crate — and nobody carries 32 pounds of crate through an airport. But on wheels, you do not carry it: you roll it from car to hotel room to campsite, which is the actual travel pattern for most owners. The carrying handle covers the stairs. The ergonomic doors are documented but unspecified in the listing, which is the one soft spot on an otherwise specific product page. “Ergonomic” is a word, not a measurement.
Price is deliberately absent from this page, as with every product here, so evaluate the Revol on documented substance: aluminum and steel mesh construction, real wheels, safety-first hinge design, and a medium size class. The honest question is whether you need it. A calm medium dog that travels by car does not need baby-industry safety standards; a strong, anxious, or young dog that tests every latch might. Accessories sold separately is the ecosystem reality, so budget the extras if you want the full setup.
Key specs: 34.6″ L x 22.9″ W x 23.8″ H; 32 lbs; medium size class; high-grade aluminum, steel mesh wire, reinforced plastic; wheels and carrying handle; ergonomic doors; folds flat; designed to baby-industry safety standards (no pinched paws/fingers); 1-year limited warranty; ecosystem accessories sold separately.
Pros:
- Baby-industry safety standards: the strongest documented safety story here (listing)
- Wheels plus handle: the only kennel here you roll instead of carry
- Aluminum and steel mesh — a genuine materials step above plain wire crates (listing)
- Collapses flat despite the wheels: portability survives the premium build (listing)
- One-year limited warranty (listing)
Cons:
- 32 lbs: the heaviest kennel here by far — stairs and lifting are real work (structural observation)
- “Ergonomic doors” is documented but unspecified — a word, not a measurement (listing’s own framing)
- Accessories sold separately: the full setup costs more than the crate alone (listing)
- Not airline cargo: wheels and a collapsible design do not meet cargo specs (structural observation)
Verdict: The premium indoor-and-car pick. If your medium dog tests latches, or you want the safest hinge design documented here and wheels to move it, the Revol justifies its position. For a calm dog in a sedan, a wire crate does the same job.
6. Sweetcrispy Medium Dog Crate with Divider Panel, 30 Inch Double Door Folding Metal Wire Dog Cage with Plastic Leak-Proof Pan Tray, Pet Kennel for Indoor, Outdoor, Travel
The Sweetcrispy is the compact wire option: 30 inches long, 17.91 wide, 19.49 tall, and 14.25 pounds — the lightest wire crate in this lineup by nearly eight pounds. The headline hardware is the double door with two heavy-duty slide-bolt locks per door: four locks total, the most documented locking hardware on any wire crate here. A wire door’s lock count is the honest measure of its escape resistance, and two bolts per door is a real answer to the dog that works a single latch. The divider panel is included for training, the tray is a leak-proof ABS composite that the listing says resists stains, warping, corrosion, and odors, and the whole thing folds flat in seconds with no-tool setup. Rounded edges and corners are documented for safety.
The 30-inch size needs the same honesty treatment as the Petmate: this is a medium crate for the smaller half of medium. At 19.49 inches tall and 30 long, a tall 50-pound dog will not stand, turn, and lie comfortably. The brand’s class is “medium breed,” but the dimensions say 25 to 40 pounds is the comfortable zone. For a Cocker Spaniel, a French Bulldog, or a smaller Brittany, it is sized right. At 14.25 pounds, it is the wire crate you will actually fold up and take along, because the 22-pounders stay home more often than owners admit.
The ABS composite tray deserves a sentence: plastic trays on cheap wire crates warp, stain, and hold odor, and a tray the listing specifically engineers against all three is a documented upgrade. The indoor, outdoor, and travel positioning is the listing’s scope, and “outdoor” here means supervised patio use, not weatherproofing, because wire crates rust outdoors regardless of tray quality. Two slide bolts per door, a real tray, 14 pounds: the Sweetcrispy does the basics right without asking you to carry 22 pounds.
Key specs: 30.31″ L x 17.91″ W x 19.49″ H; 14.25 lbs; medium breed class; metal wire mesh; double door (front + side) with 2 heavy-duty slide-bolt locks per door; divider panel; leak-proof ABS composite tray (resists stains, warping, corrosion, odors); folds flat in seconds; no-tool setup in minutes; rounded edges and corners.
Pros:
- Four slide-bolt locks total (two per door): the most documented door hardware here (listing)
- Lightest wire crate in the lineup (14.25 lbs) — the portable one
- ABS composite tray engineered against stains, warping, corrosion, odors (listing)
- Double door (front plus side) like the Amazon Basics, in a smaller footprint
- Rounded edges and corners: a documented safety detail (listing)
Cons:
- 30-inch size: comfortable for 25-40 lbs, tight for a tall 50-pounder — smaller half of medium (structural observation)
- No named breed detail or sizing rule like the Amazon Basics’ add-four-inches guidance (structural observation)
- Wire crates are not chew-proof; determined dogs work even double bolts eventually (structural observation)
- “Outdoor” means supervised patio use — wire rusts in real weather (structural observation)
Verdict: The light wire pick. If a 36-inch crate is overkill for your dog and overkill for your trunk, the Sweetcrispy’s double bolts and 14-pound carry weight are the honest compact answer.
Plastic vs. Wire vs. Soft-Sided: Picking the Format Before the Brand
Choose the format first, because no brand fixes a wrong format. Plastic kennels are the durability answer: a solid shell resists chewing, impact, and weather better than wire or fabric, and the format carries the most credibility at an airline cargo counter. The Petmate’s tie-down strap holes and metal-screw assembly are the hardware version of that credibility. The cost is bulk: a one-piece shell does not fold flat, and ventilation is fixed at whatever the manufacturer molded in. For dogs that fly in cargo or ride in truck beds, plastic is the default, and nothing else in this lineup competes with it there.
Wire crates are the versatility answer. Maximum ventilation, maximum visibility, divider panels that turn one crate into a puppy-to-adult system, and a fold-flat design that disappears into a closet. The MidWest and Amazon Basics both document that system thinking. The honest limits: wire is not chew-proof, latches are the escape point (which is why lock counts and latch engineering matter), and a wire crate in a cold car is a drafty box. Owners have thrown a blanket over wire crates in winter since forever, and you will too. For home-plus-car use with a dog that is not an escape artist, wire is the most crate for the least compromise.
Soft-sided kennels are the convenience answer, and only the convenience answer. Seven pounds, pop-up in seconds, pleasant to carry and pleasant for the dog to ride in. The Petsfit’s lockable zippers and pinch-free frame are the best version of this format. But fabric is fabric: chewers, scratchers, and anxious dogs defeat it, and no airline accepts one as cargo. Buy soft-sided for car rides, vet visits, and hotel rooms with a calm dog. The moment your dog tests the zipper, the format has told you its answer.
Sizing a Travel Kennel: Measure the Dog, Not the Label
The industry’s open secret is that “medium” spans 25 to 70 pounds across the listings in this very article. The Petmate calls 25-30 pounds its medium. The iCrate calls 41-70 pounds medium-large. Both are “medium dog kennels.” The only measurement that survives that chaos is the dog itself: the dog must stand at full height without crouching, turn around in a full circle without wedging, and lie on its side with legs extended. If any of the three fails, the kennel is too small, whatever the box claims.
The Amazon Basics listing gives the best documented rule here and it deserves repeating: measure nose to tail and head to floor, then add 4 inches. That gives the length and height minimums. Then check the crate’s interior against those numbers, not the marketing class. A 36-inch wire crate gives roughly 32 inches of usable length; a 28-inch plastic kennel gives roughly 26. And width matters in cars: the Sweetcrispy’s 17.91-inch width fits trunks that the 23-inch crates do not, which is a genuine reason to size down when the dog allows it.
Weight classes are ceilings, not comfort guarantees — the same framing as any load rating. A 50-pound dog in a crate rated “up to 50 lbs” is at the limit, and limits are where things flex, rattle, and fail. Buy one class up from the dog’s current weight when the dimensions allow it, especially for young dogs still growing. And for puppies: the divider panels in the iCrate, the Amazon Basics, and the Sweetcrispy exist precisely so you can buy the adult-size crate now and shrink the interior for the puppy months. That is the honest way to buy once.
Airline Cargo Rules: What “Airline Approved” Actually Means
There is no kennel approval authority. No government agency, no airline consortium, and no certification body issues “airline approved” kennels. When a listing says “airline approved” or “meets most airline cargo specifications,” that is the brand describing its own product against rules it read — sometimes carefully, sometimes loosely. The airline’s published rules are the only verdict that counts, they differ by carrier, and they change with little notice. Check the airline’s site for the flight you are actually taking, before you buy anything.
That said, the hardware patterns are real and worth knowing. Cargo-accepted kennels are hard-sided: solid plastic shell, a metal door (not plastic, not mesh), ventilation on multiple sides, and secure latching that cannot pop open if the kennel tips. Tie-down points or strap holes, like the ones the Petmate documents, are what ground crews and car trunks both want. Live-animal labels and “this side up” markings are usually your job, not the manufacturer’s. And the size rule airlines actually enforce is the stand-turn-lie test — the same one in this article — because a dog that cannot stand in its kennel is a dog the airline can refuse.
The formats that never fly cargo: soft-sided kennels (fabric cannot meet impact rules), collapsible crates with wheels (the Revol’s design is the opposite of a cargo kennel), and wire crates — airlines do not accept wire crates as cargo, full stop. If flying is in your dog’s future, the plastic kennel is the format, bought to the airline’s published dimensions for your specific carrier. Everything else on this page is a car, home, and hotel answer, and that is a perfectly good thing to be.
Crate Training and Travel Day: Making the Kennel a Good Place
No dog is born liking a kennel. The training sequence is short and non-negotiable: start with the crate open in the living room, feed meals inside it, let the dog wander in and out for treats, then close the door for seconds, then minutes. Most dogs accept the crate within a week. The mistakes are all human: shutting a new dog in for hours on day one, using the crate as punishment, or skipping straight to a six-hour car ride. A kennel is a den, and dens are learned, not assigned.
The escape reality check belongs here because it is a safety issue. Wire crates are not escape-proof: a determined dog works slide bolts, bends wire, and learns latches. Double bolts per door (the Sweetcrispy) and latch engineering (the iCrate’s Paw Block) buy real resistance, but resistance is not proof. The honest answer to a true escape artist is a heavy-duty plastic or aluminum kennel, supervision, and addressing the anxiety that drives the escape. Soft-sided crates are the least escape-resistant of all: a zipper is a suggestion to a motivated dog, which is why lockable zippers exist and why they are not enough for a real escape artist.
On travel day, the routine matters more than the kennel. Exercise the dog before the trip: a tired dog crates calmly, and a wired dog does not. Water in a no-spill bowl for long drives. The leak-proof trays and stay-dry floors in these listings exist for the messes that happen anyway. Never leave a crated dog in a parked car in warm weather: a kennel concentrates heat, and a wire crate in direct sun becomes an oven. On arrival, the kennel goes in the quiet corner of the hotel room with the familiar blanket. The den travels with the dog, which is the whole point.
Frequently Asked Questions
What size kennel does a medium dog need for travel?
Measure the dog, not the label. The dog must stand at full height, turn in a circle, and lie stretched on its side inside the kennel. In this lineup, the 36-inch wire crates (MidWest iCrate, Amazon Basics) fit the upper half of medium — roughly 40 to 70 pounds. The 30-inch Sweetcrispy and 28-inch Petmate fit the lower half — roughly 25 to 40 pounds. The Petsfit soft crate is rated to 50 pounds for calm dogs. The Amazon Basics listing’s rule is the one to steal: add 4 inches to the nose-to-tail and head-to-floor measurements. When between sizes, size up. A slightly roomy kennel is a comfort question; a too-small one is a welfare question, and some airlines will refuse a kennel the dog cannot stand in.
Are travel kennels really airline approved?
“Airline approved” is a brand claim, not a certification. No authority issues kennel approvals. What airlines actually require is published on each carrier’s site and typically includes a hard-sided plastic shell, a metal door, ventilation on multiple sides, secure latching, and the stand-turn-lie size test. Of the six kennels here, only the Petmate Ultra Vari documents cargo-oriented hardware (metal screws, steel wire door, tie-down strap holes), and even its “meets most airline cargo specifications” is the listing’s claim, not a stamp. Wire crates, soft-sided crates, and wheeled collapsible crates are not accepted as airline cargo. Check your specific airline’s published rules before you buy. They differ by carrier, and they change.
Is a soft-sided kennel safe for car travel?
For the right dog, yes. A soft-sided kennel like the Petsfit is a genuine car-travel answer for a calm dog that already crates well: 7.28 pounds, pops up in seconds, mesh doors for airflow and visibility, lockable zippers, and a washable mat. The limits are hard ones: chewers, scratchers, anxious dogs, and escape artists defeat fabric and zippers, and no soft crate restrains a determined 40-pound dog. It is also never an airline cargo option. Think of it as a portable den for easy dogs, not a containment system for difficult ones. Match the format to the dog honestly and it works.
Can my dog escape from a wire crate?
A determined dog can escape any wire crate eventually. Wire is not escape-proof, and the door latch is the weak point. That said, hardware matters: the Sweetcrispy’s two slide bolts per door and the iCrate’s Paw Block latch with locking tips are documented resistance, meaningfully better than a single plain slide bolt. A crate sized to the dog (not oversized) also helps, since less interior room means less leverage for pushing and bending. For a true escape artist, though, the honest answer is a heavy-duty plastic or aluminum kennel plus addressing the underlying anxiety. Separation anxiety drives most escapes, and no latch fixes that. Never punish escape attempts — they are panic, not disobedience.
Plastic or wire: which is better for a medium dog in the car?
It depends on the trip. Plastic kennels (the Petmate) win on durability, chew resistance, and draft protection: a solid shell blocks the cold air that pours through wire in winter, and tie-down strap holes keep the kennel planted in a hard stop. Wire crates (the iCrate, Amazon Basics, Sweetcrispy) win on ventilation, visibility, and fold-flat storage: a wire crate collapses to a panel that slides behind a seat, while a plastic shell needs real storage space. For a chewer or a winter road-tripper, plastic. For a calm dog and a small car, wire. For flying cargo, plastic is the only format airlines accept, and the question answers itself.
How do I get my dog used to a travel kennel before a trip?
Start at least two weeks before the trip. Week one: crate open in the living room, meals and treats inside, door never closed — the kennel becomes furniture that pays. Week two: close the door for short stretches while you are home, then practice car sessions with the engine running, then short drives. Exercise the dog before every practice session; a tired dog learns calmly. Bring the familiar blanket and the usual mat on travel day — the den travels with the dog. If the dog panics at any stage, drop back a step rather than pushing through. And never use the kennel as punishment: one bad association undoes weeks of good ones.

